Inevitable mid-project boredom second project

I’ve always liked blackwork, and I thought I’d have a go myself. I saw a nice sampler on pinterest from this wordpress blog. But me being me, instead of just copying it outright I fancied a go at making a colour graded sampler. Here’s what I have so far:

20150717_112539

I’m really enjoying the blackwork, finding the balance betweenthe most efficient use of thread and being able to follow the pattern. I’m not sure how well the grading is working. Maybe I should have done it in half squared but that seemed a bit confusing. We’ll see how it looks when it’s done. I’m also really noticing how hard cheapo threads are to work with. My summer window is using mostly DMC, with some Anchor thrown in. These cheap threads are rough and knot all the time. Still, I’m not wasting any of my stash.

The reason I picked green was because I need 8 shades of the same colour, and these were all lined up nicely together making my life easier. Remember this is a spur of the moment project. The middle colours (which fill the most squares) don’t seem to show up very well on white aida. Ah well you live and learn.

20150717_112501

Leave a Reply

