Experiments with food – Carrot Soup

Remember my homemade vegetable stock?

Well for my birthday last month my parents bought me a hand blender/chopper!!! Very exciting stuff. It’s portable (for moving house) and comes with everything you need! Well anyway I decided that now is the time to use up my homemade stock and make some soup!

After great deliberation (and the huge bag of ‘on offer’ carrots in the fridge) I chose carrot soup! This is the first proper soup I’ve ever made and also the first thing I’ve ever used homemade stock in.

Ingredients:

  • 500ml vegetable stock
  • 400ml other stock (chicken in my case)
  • 5+ small-medium carrots
  • 2 medium potatoes
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • half a can of  butterbeans, draines
  • a handful of rice (uncooked)

Makes: 4 bowls

  • Defrost the stock if homemade and frozen. You can also prepare cube stock now.
  • Chop carrots and onion.
  • Add some butter (roughly 2 tsps) to a pan.
  • Fry the veg. gently whilst peeling and chopping potatoes and garlic. (10 mins or so)
  • Drain a can of butterbeans (any beans will do, my favourites are cannellini beans)
  • Add butterbeans, rice, potatoes and garlic to the pan.
  • Add the stock and simmer for 20 mins. (I added 2 chicken stock cubes and 400ml water)
  • Take off the heat and let cool slightly
  • Blitz the veg with either a masher or blender (or leave lumps if you like lumps!) I found it easiest to drain off the liquid, mash the veg, then re-mash the liquid back in.
  • Season to taste.

 

There you have it! Surprisingly tasty carrot (and chicken) soup! It’s also mega thick.

Oh, just to mention I cheated a tiny bit and added a touch of turmeric when I added the rice. This makes the soup more yellowy!

Here’s 2 good recipes that I pieced together (sort of) and you might like to try if mine doesn’t work out for you.

Simple Carrot Soup @ Greedy Gourmet

Carrot Soup @ Netmums

Leave a Reply

