My Sewing Projects #5 – Oven Gloves

We moved into our first flat together over the summer. I was itching to sew something, and he wanted some oven gloves so he could stop accidentally burning himself on dinner. I found this really cool, really simple guide Here. It has cool pictures and a printable pdf template.

I used cotton batting which is heatproof, with polyester wadding underneath. The material on the outside is 100% cotton and space themed (again!). The lining on the inside is made out of a pair of Nathan’s old trousers and is gloriously soft! This is the first time I really ever used my baby sewing machine.

They’re really cool and actually work!!! As you can probably tell, by now they’re REALLY well used and need another wash! The downside is that they don’t match, since the template I used had a bit of a small thumb which I couldn’t use properly. I made my own biased binding from some (surprise!) old trousers.

Leave a Reply

